Archive

Monthly Archives: November 2016

What Dave Read Yesterday – November 7, 2016

What Dave Read 11-7-16

Some I finish.  Some I sample.  Others I skim.  Regardless, these books’ pages met my eyes at some point yesterday, November 7, 2016.  And, of course, there’s affiliate marketing attached to these entries. The Blank Slate by Steven Pinker So far my impression of The Blank Slate is like asking someone, “Hey, where’d you get […]

Continue reading

The Availability Heuristic and the Monster Who Feeds It

Availability heuristics and the paranoid prone

Does social media create dark mental shortcuts for the paranoid-prone? The media does not report the mundane.  The mundane does not sell advertising space.  The extraordinary sells advertising space.  Furthermore, we engage the extraordinary on social media.  Likes, shares, re-tweets, pins.  Each time we tell the system that something has our attention–no matter how dark, […]

Continue reading

Preview: Do Humankind’s Best Days Lie Ahead?

Steven Pinker, Matt Ridley, Malcolm Gladwell, and Alain de Botton

This is preview of the book Do Humankind’s Best Days Lie Ahead?: The Munk Debates based on the conversations of Steven Pinker, Matt Ridley, Alain de Botton, and Malcolm Gladwell available Decmeber 13, 2016.   Do Humankind’s Best Days Lie Ahead?: The Munk Debates by Steven Pinker, Matt Ridley, Alain de Botton, and Malcolm Gladwell Release […]

Continue reading

What Dave Read Yesterday – November 6, 2016

What Dave Read Yesterday November 06, 2016

Some I finish.  Some I sample.  Others I skim.  Regardless, these books’ pages met my eyes at some point yesterday, November 6, 2016.  And, of course, there’s affiliate marketing attached to these entries. How To Have A Good Day by Caroline Webb Worked through most of the intro and first chapter.  A lot of what […]

Continue reading

Too Many Sharks on Facebook

Too Many Sharks on Facebook

Availability Heuristics in the Age of Social Media If you read a story about a shark attack and share it, hoping to warn friends and family that live near beaches that there are shark attacks, Facebook’s algorithm sees this as you engaging with a story about shark attacks and makes a note of it.  Because […]

Continue reading

Preview: John Calipari and the Art of Coaching Extreme Talent

John Calipari

This is a preview of Success is the Only Option by John Calipari. Success is the Only Option by John Calipari Available: November 15, 2016 Amazon Price: $14.99 (Kindle) / $22.48 (Hardcover) Publisher: Harper Collins Publisher’s Description: Kentucky’s charismatic coach shares the secrets of creating one of the premiere programs in college basketball, revealing how he transforms a […]

Continue reading

Preview: Raza Rumi and Pakistan’s Democratic Transition

Pakistan's Flag

This is a preview of The Fractious Path: Pakistan’s Democratic Transition by Raza Rumi.   The Fractious Path: Pakistan’s Democratic Transition by Raza Rumi Available: November 15, 2016 (Available on Kindle now) Amazon Price: $10.99 (Kindle) / $21.84 (Paperback) Publisher: Harper Collins Publisher’s Description: Since its inception, Pakistan has oscillated between authoritarianism and democratic spells. An […]

Continue reading

So What The Hell Is Donald Trump’s Strategy Anyways?

Donald Trump's strategy

Welcome to What Dave Thinks, where I ruminate on the current books I’m reading, as well as the books’ applications for business and other real world stuff.  Today’s topic: Donald Trump’s strategy in the 2016 US Presidential election. Note: There’s a lot of ranting and raving and opinions being tossed around, so if you’re sensitive to that […]

Continue reading

Real Estate Investing: An Updated Guide for 2016/17’s Bullish Market

Buy It, Rent It, Profit! by Bryan Chavis

This is a preview of Buy It, Rent It, Profit! (Updated Edition): Make Money as a Landlord in a Bullish Market by Bryan M. Chavis available for pre-order on Amazon. When Bryan M. Chavis wrote the original Buy It, Rent It, Profit! in 2009, he was following the global recession and housing crisis.  For those flush with cash, it […]

Continue reading

6 Books to Help You Get Over Yourself

Life is short.  Too damn short.  One day you’re a ball of fat, pissing and shitting and rooting for mama’s tit.  Then you’re working your ass off, rolling that proverbial boulder up a hill, making dick in wages.  Next, you’re old, gray, and alone, dying slowly in some family-forgotten nursing home.  And finally… nothing.  Worm […]

Continue reading

Did Tom Haverford and Jean-Ralphio Write A Book on Marketing?

Aziz

If you’ve been following my blog, you’ll know that I’m a huge advocate for social media marketing.  I’ve learned something important, too.  Quantity no longer works.  Quality is master. Hopefully, this new book from Afdhel Aziz and Bobby Jones can help in that area.  Especially since I’m going to pretend that it was written by […]

Continue reading

TED Talks Teams with S&S for TED Books Boxed Set: The Business Mind

Dan Ariely

TED Talks help define our generation.  In this boxed set, three well-respected authors share their business philosophies.  Check out the preview and What Dave Thinks below: TED Books Boxed Set: The Business Mind This is a preview of Ted Books Boxed Set: The Business Mind by Dan Ariely, Margaret Heffernan, and Barry Schwartz Release Date: November 1, 2016 Length: […]

Continue reading

Before You Kill That Annoying Person at Work…

Working With Difficult People by Amy Cooper Hakim and Muriel Solomon

Ugggh.  There’s that obnoxious co-worker that’s difficult to work with again.  Not only do you hate being around him/her, but they make the workplace altogether unenjoyable.  If only there was a way to manage difficult people without completely losing our sanity… Working with Difficult People by Amy Cooper Hakim and Muriel Solomon This is a preview of […]

Continue reading

Do You Have One Word to Sum Up Your Personal Philosophy?

Plenty of books offer complicated solutions to simple goals.  Things can seem overwhelming for businesspeople, entrepreneurs, and intrapreneurs.  In the tradition of Gary Keller’s The One Thing, Evan Carmichael has a simple solution… Your One Word by Evan Carmichael This is a preview of Your One Word by Evan Carmichael available for pre-order on Amazon. Release Date: December […]

Continue reading

Time’s Running Out And You Haven’t Made A Sale Yet…

More Sales, Less Time by Jill Konrath

The clock’s ticking.  There’s bills to pay.  Expenses to consider.  “If only I could get another sale before the deadline, then everything would be all right,” you tell yourself.   But it’s a breakneck-paced world, and it’s super easy to get left behind. Thankfully, Jill Konrath may have the solution… More Sales, Less Time by Jill […]

Continue reading